You Can do WHAT in QuickBooks? Enabling Multiple Users

There is a general misperception that it is easier for multiple users to work in QuickBooks® Desktop than QuickBooks Online (QBO). Your clients may not be aware of some of the features of QBO that simplify the multi-user experience, save users time and help keep their data secure.

Clients have probably heard about “anytime, anywhere access,” but they may not realize that multiple users can be signed into QBO at the same time. There’s no additional network setup needed, like the multi-user mode in QuickBooks Desktop. Regardless whether they are using a PC or a Mac, or signing in on their phone or tablet using our mobile apps, each user can log in and get to work. There’s no need to wait until you are at your desk! Plus, activities performed by one user can be seen by others immediately.

Using QBO also eliminates the need to exchange data files back and forth between users. You and your clients will never need to wonder if you are working with the most up-to-date data, and will not have to find advanced ways to securely share files. Goodbye time-consuming IT challenges and potential for lost files!

QBO Essentials and Plus each offer options for additional users. Essentials includes three users. Plus includes five users, with an option to expand to six to 10 users, or 11-20 users for additional fees.

There are various types of client users in Essentials and Plus that count toward the number of users:

Master Admin – Has full access to QBO. There is only one master admin, but it can be transferred to a Company Admin if needed.

Company Admin – Access to all features and capabilities. You can have multiple company admins.

Regular or Custom – You can give access to all features, or limit to Customers and Sales or Vendors and Purchases.

In addition, QBO Plus offers an unlimited number of the following users:

Reports Only – Access to a reports-only version of QuickBooks to view virtually all reports, except payroll reports and those listing the contact information of employees, customers or vendors.

Time-Tracking Only – Access to a timesheets-and-time-reports only version of QuickBooks to view and enter their own time information. In QBO’s settings, you can turn on the option to make time billable to customers and decide if these users see billing rate or not.

For steps and additional information on how to add/remove users, change user access rights and more, review this Intuit® Knowledge Base article.

QBO Simple Start, Essentials and Plus all offer the option to invite up to two bookkeeping or accounting firms that function as Company Admin users with additional accountant tools. Each firm manages its own team users within QuickBooks Online Accountant; in addition, access to client companies can be granted and removed from staff as needed. 

When you or your client sets up a new user, they are invited to the QBO company via email and guided through creating their own unique user ID and password (or they may use an existing Intuit ID). We ask the user to add a phone number to use for multi-factor authentication. This helps prevent those without permission from accessing the data, even if they find out someone’s password, by sending a time-sensitive code through text message or email.

Here is an Intuit Knowledge Base article for more info on multi-factor authentication.

QBO’s robust audit log automatically tracks activities performed by client and accountant users. The audit log can be filtered by user, date range and actions in QBO. Within a transaction’s history, you can easily see the time stamp of when the transaction was added, edited or deleted. Edits are highlighted, and you can click compare to view changes over time.

I hope this helps you sort out multiple user questions from your clients!